The boundary of the Lyadova village is a unique natural phenomenon in the Middle Podnistrovya region. The village is situated near the Dniester Great Canyon. It's sur- rounded with steep banks of the Lyadova River, where chalk beats have created walls with caves, posts, and rocks. There are such rare plants as pale hyacinth, two kinds of feather grass, and in spring there are areas of blosso-ming adonis. The first settlements appeared there 150 000 years ago.
Lyadova is famous primarily for its one of the oldest Orthdox monasteries — the Saint Cutting Off Rock Monastery (the 11th cent.). This monastery has a poetic name "The Podolian Athos". The monastery is situated on the rock terrace of a mountain (90 m) over the Dniester. The ensemble consists of three cave temples: the Cutting Off Ioann Predtecha's Head Temple, the Saint Paraskeva Pyatnytsya Temple, and the Saint Antoniy Pecherskiy Temple. In 1848 a bell tower was added to Ioann Predtecha Church (it was ruined in 1938, and it is under reconstruction now). In the monastery territory, there are the monks' tombs (the 18th 19th cent.), and medicinal springs. The legends tell that Reverend Antoniy Pecherskiy found his first shelter here on his way from the Athos to Kyiv.
Discover Ukraine with Vinnytsya Private Tour Guides